A Vibrant, Active, and Long-Standing Faith Community
Founded in 1852, St. Helens First UMC is the third-oldest Methodist church in the state of Oregon. Its first building was constructed in 1853 on Knob Hill, where it served as a beacon to boats traveling on the Columbia River.
In 1877, the church was burned down after being used as a hospital during a smallpox epidemic. The church was soon rebuilt, only be destroyed by another fire in 1898. It was at this time that the congregation decided to move the church downtown to the corner of First Street and Old Portland Road.
St. Helens First UMC worshiped in its downtown location until 1922, when the property was sold. The construction of its current building began the following year, with its cornerstone dedicated on August 3, 1924. Until 1953, when a parsonage was built on the property, the pastor lived in an apartment on the upper story of the church. The apartment was subsequently renovated into Sunday school rooms.
In 2023, Reverend Dr. D. Scott Allen began serving as pastor of St. Helens First UMC.